The Tale Of Shbaa

I know. I know it has been so long since I last posted something here. But hey, I do have a life you know! After my grand debacle last year, I was trying out some new things and put this blog aside for a while. But now I’m back on track and I am here with some new content.

So, recently I’ve been selected into the core team of the literary club of SIBM Bengaluru. The club’s name is SymBeat. Sounds as though it’s the name of a band or a dance event’s name right? I feel you. But hey the competition was stiff! And the peeps are super cool in there.

*flexing*

So, for the round 1 selections to get into the club, we were asked to either choose a one-liner topic or a photo and write something about it by thinking out of the box while adhering to a limit of 350 words. We were given one day time to write and submit it. And of course, I chose a weird-ass photo which had absolutely no meaning whatsoever.

Probably a drunk junkie must have photoshopped it while sipping a mochaccino! The pic is posted below.

Screenshot 2020-08-09 at 9.04.56 PM

Doesn’t make any sense!
At all!

But I managed to extract a story out of it. So, I’ll stop my rant here and you guys be the judge of my imagination.


Story


They came to the earth about 30 years ago. And a lot has changed since then.

The first message we received was ‘Baa’. We tried to decode it but we couldn’t. Then came another – ‘Baa Baa’. This too was a tough nut to crack.

A few weeks passed by when we had our first contact with them. To our surprise, they weren’t scary looking monsters with tentacles. They were an exact lookalike of the animal ‘goat’ who wore a glass bowl and rubber boots. We called them ‘Shbaa’. They were docile and lovely creatures who preferred to stay on their mothership.

No sooner had we exchanged our pleasantries did we start reciprocating our ideas using gestures at first which slowly progressed to our native dialects. We taught each other our respective scripts. They taught us everything except the meaning of the word ‘Baa’ which they never uttered.

Asteroids and comets that were once beyond our reach were now our mines, from which we replenished our resources, thanks to their ability to float around in space.

Time progressed and the inter-mixing of the species had begun. Slowly the friendship blossomed into love. And from love to procreation.

After another 15 years, we had a whole new species who although were half-human and half-Shbaa got no human traits in appearance. Interestingly, the Shbaas never allowed their offsprings to mingle with us. The younglings were kept on the mothership where they were fed sumptuously and were taught about everything.

It was the year 2123 when we heard a loud noise at midnight. It looked like the Shbaas were ready to depart. Suddenly, we heard a loud voice – Baa. Then came a beam which blew away half the planet. The second wave of attack was followed by another loud voice – Baa Baa which was even more devastating. The beam was fast approaching and my face burned. I could feel my pulse rising.

This is when we realised that the Shbaas planned this all along and Baa was a war cry. We were nothing but surrogates who gave them their offsprings!

 

The End

Leave a comment